top of page

The Experts in Pool Safety Inspections

Contact Us

Thanks for your message!

DO I NEED TO GET A COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATE?

As per the recent Victorian building regulations, it is now mandatory for swimming pool and spa owners to have an effective safety barrier installed around their respective pools or spas. To comply with this new legislation, the owners must register their pools or spas with their local council and hire a professional building practitioner to inspect the safety barriers every four years and provide a certificate of compliance.

 

We offer inspection and certification services to meet these requirements and ensure compliance with the relevant standard requirements. To help you better understand the standards associated with your pool and spa, we have provided the following checklists for your convenience.

Melbourne pool inspection and complianve certificate fence

POOL & SPA REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

The Australian National Drowning Report states that the leading cause of backyard pool drownings for children aged 0-4 is due to faulty or non-compliant pool barriers or lack of supervision. 

Each year, on average, four children lose their lives in pools and spas in Victoria. Therefore, the Victorian building regulatory regime made it a legal obligation for swimming pool and spa owners to lodge a Pool Barrier Compliance Certificate (Form 23) with their local council by the following deadlines:

 

  • If the construction date is on or before 30 June 1994, the owners must lodge the certificate by 1 June 2022.

  • If the construction date is from 1 July 1994 until 30 April 2010, the owners must lodge the certificate by 1 June 2023.

  • If the construction date is from 1 May 2010 until 31 October 2020, the owners must lodge the certificate by 1 June 2024.

  • Deadlines for inspection and lodgement of compliance certificate for pools and spas constructed after 1 November 2020 is within 30 days of the date of issue of the compliance certificate. 

The owners are legally obliged to apply for inspection and lodgement of a certificate of pool barrier compliance within the deadlines identified above. Failure to register a swimming pool or spa within the relevant timeframe can have a penalty of up to $1652.20.

For more information, please see the information on the VBA website at Pool and Spa inspections and compliance | Victorian Building Authority (vba.vic.gov.au)

Melbourne pool inspection and complianve certificate family pool

REGULATIONS

Watch Jarrod Edwards talk about Pool Safety in Melbourne Backyards

About Us

ABOUT US

Click and check our practitioner's details

Our business was established in 2016 by two experts in the field - Samira Eshaghi and Joseph Yousefi. Samira is a certified pool barrier safety inspector while Joseph is a building surveyor, authorized to issue building permits, conduct pool and spa safety barrier inspections, and issue certificates of pool or spa barrier compliance. Their extensive knowledge and experience in understanding the building regulatory regime has allowed them to work with several local governments and private sectors. They are now bringing their expertise to our practice to benefit our clients. Rest assured that with our team of highly qualified professionals, we will provide you with top-of-the-line services.

Pool barrier inspection by Samira and Joseph
Melbourne pool safety inspection Victorian Pool Inspection Register.PNG
Melbourne pool safety inspection Victorian Pool Inspection Register (1).png

OUR POOL SAFETY BARRIER INSPECTION PROCESS

After registering your swimming pool or spa, you must obtain and submit a compliance certificate for your safety barriers. Follow the steps below to ensure compliance.

1

Book your Pool Safety Inspection by clicking on the following bottom, give us your information and inform us about your availability. Upon your booking, we will contact you and schedule a time for your pool /spa inspection. 

You pay

$250

Special

$175
Price as marked

2

Our Inspector visits your site to conduct a Safety Assessment, checking safety barriers are correctly installed, hazards are removed and all are compliant with the relevant Australian Standard.

3

Suppose your pool barrier is compliant with the relevant standard specified by the council. In that case, we will issue a certificate of pool or spa barrier compliance (Form 23), and then you can lodge the certificate with your local council. 

You pay

$0

4

If a pool barrier requires work, we follow the VBA guide, will highlight the relevant requirements in a report and give you additional time to address the issues before we can reinspect the barrier.

5

After the inspection of your pool barrier, if it meets the required standards, we will provide you with a certificate of compliance (Form 23) which can then be submitted to your local council. However, in some rare cases where the regulations require, we may need to issue a certificate of non-compliance (Form 24).

You pay

$125

Anchor FEES
WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT US
Thank you so very much to Samira and Joseph for making the whole process of the pool compliance so easy for us. I have previously dealt with other inspectors who are unnecessarily arrogant and offer no explanations or guidance or solutions. In contrast, both Samira and Joseph gave us so much time to help us understand and they had so much patience. They guided us and helped us with solutions through the whole process and they were not bothered by us going back and forth to them with many questions that we had. I highly recommend these lovely people and I have asked them to add me to the list so that they can automatically provide me their service at next pool compliance time. It is never nice dealing with compliance issues, but it was a pleasure dealing with Samira and Joseph.
I engaged Melbourne Pool Safety Inspection to inspect my pool barriers and issue a compliance certificate for the Moonee Valley City Council. The fee quoted was very competitive. They responded promptly to my initial enquiry and accommodated my preferred date and time for inspection. I received updates via SMS prior to the inspection, including an estimated time of arrival, which was accurate and helpful. Samira was friendly and professional in her approach. She conducted a thorough but efficient inspection, taking the time to answer all my questions and offer practical advice. Samira then told me when to expect the compliance certificate, but delivered it several days early. The entire process, including lodgement of the compliance certificate with the council, concluded within a week. I highly recommend their services.
I called Melbourne Pool Safety Inspection after I found their details on the internet. Samira visited and gave me a thorough, direct and easy to understand assessment of the compliance of my pool barrier compliance. It was installed 25 years ago and there were a few issues that needed to be addressed. Samira was very clear on what needed to be done and the processes that would follow. At the follow up inspection because of the clarity and full explanation I had all work completed and met the standard to be granted a certificate. I found the whole process very professional and thorough - I would recommend Melbourne Pool Safety Inspection to anybody for pool safety certification.
The experience I have had with this business has been excellent. From the initial contact, communication with me has been very prompt, arranged appointments on time and I received a detailed, comprehensive report 24 hours after the initial inspection.
Throughout the inspection I was impressed by the knowledge and efficiency displayed by Samira and also by engaging me in the conversation about solutions and assistance with arranging rectification work.
Again I was impressed by the efficiency and quality of work undertaken by Joseph to rectify the identified problems and the prompt issuing of the Certificate of Compliance.
What a positive experience I have had with a business which is well organized, efficient and importantly, shows it cares about its client. Well done and thank you.

REFERENCE SITES

Melbourne pool inspection and complianve certificate VBS LOG0
Melbourne pool inspection and complianve certificate VBS REGISTERED PRACTITIONER
Melbourne pool inspection and complianve certificate FOR CHILD PREVENTION
bottom of page