The Experts in Pool Safety Inspections

Contact Us

Thanks for your message!

DO I NEED TO GET A COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATE?

The recent Victorian building regulatory requirement made it a legal obligation for swimming pool and spa owners to ensure an effective safety barrier is installed around their swimming pools or spas.  

The new legislation requires the owners to register their pools or spas with local councils and engage a professional building practitioner to inspect the safety barriers every four years and provide a certificate of compliance. 

 

We provide the required inspection and certification services and we will assist you in complying with the relevant standard requirements.

 

The following checklists will help you to have a better understanding of the relevant standard requirement associated with your pool and spa. 

Swimming Pool

BEFORE 8 APRIL 1991

SELF-ASSESSMENT CHECKLIST BY THE VICTORIAN BUILDING AUTHORITY 

BETWEEN 8 APRIL 1991 & 30 APRIL 2010

SELF-ASSESSMENT CHECKLIST BY THE VICTORIAN BUILDING AUTHORITY 

FROM 1 MAY 2010

SELF-ASSESSMENT CHECKLIST BY THE VICTORIAN BUILDING AUTHORITY 

Swimming Pool Barriers

GENERAL INFORMATION ON SWIMMING POOL BARRIER REQUIREMENTS

Swimming Pool Barrier Standards

GENERAL INFORMATION ON SWIMMING POOL  STANDARDS & SAFETY REQUIREMENTS

POOL & SPA REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

Girls Swimming Underwater

Statistics from the Australian's National Drowning report confirms that faulty or non-compliant pool barrier or lack of supervision is the most common reason for children aged between 0-4 year, backyard pool drownings.  

Each year, on average, four children lost their lives in pools and spas in Victoria. Therefore, the Victorian building regulatory regime made it a legal obligation for swimming pool and spa owners to lodge a Pool Barrier Compliance Certificate with their local council by the following deadlines:

 

  • If the construction date is on or before 30 June 1994, the owners must lodge the certificate by 1 June 2022.

  • If the construction date is from 1 July 1994 until 30 April 2010, the owners must lodge the certificate by 1 June 2023.

  • If the construction date is from 1 May 2010 until 31 October 2020, the owners must lodge the certificate by 1 June 2024.

  • Deadlines for inspection and lodgement of compliance certificate for pools and spas constructed after 1 November 2020 is within 30 days of the date of issue of the compliance certificate. 

The owners are legally obliged to apply for inspection and lodgement of a certificate of pool barrier compliance within the deadlines identified above. Failure to register a swimming pool or spa within the relevant timeframe can have a penalty of up to $1652.20.

For more information please see the information on the VBA website at Pool and spa inspections and compliance | Victorian Building Authority (vba.vic.gov.au)

Family in Pool

REGULATIONS

Watch Jarrod Edwards talk about Pool Safety in Melbourne Backyards

 

ABOUT US

Our practice, established in 2016 providing building surveying services under the direction of Mr Joseph Yousefi, a Building Surveyor authorised to carry out pool and spa safety barrier inspection services and issue a certificate of pool or spa barrier compliance. 

Joseph has a depth of knowledge and experience in understanding the building regulatory regime. He worked with several local governments and the private sector. Also, he undertook a vital role as  ​a Senior Technical Advisor with the Victorian Building Authority (VBA) and is applying his knowledge in our practice which we believe our clients will benefit from it. 

joseph yousefi_edited.jpg
Melbourne pool safety inspection Victorian Pool Inspection Register.PNG

OUR PROCESS

Once your swimming pool or spa is registered, you will be required to obtain and lodge a compliance certificate for your safety barriers. Follow our process below to get compliance.

1

Call Melbourne Pool Safety Inspections on 0405 956 655 to arrange a suitable time and book your Pool Safety Inspection by clicking on the following bottom.

You pay

$220

2

Our Inspector visits your site to conduct a Safety Assessment, checking safety barriers are correctly installed, hazards are removed and all are compliant with the relevant Australian Standard

3

If your pool barrier is compliant with the relevant standard specified by the council, we will issue a certificate of the pool or spa barrier compliance(Form 23 ), and then you can lodge the certificate with your local council. 

You pay

$0

4

If a pool barrier requires works, we follow the VBA guide, will highlight the relevant requirements in a report and give you additional time to address the issues before we can reinspect the barrier.

5

If after reinspection your pool barrier is then compliant, we will issue a certificate of the pool or spa barrier compliance ( Form 23 ), and then you can lodge the certificate with your local council. 

You pay

$198

REFERENCE SITES

vba logo.png
269-2694517_registered-building-practiti
kidsafe-color-btext-400.jpg